Support the Series

Make a Gift to Voyages of Discovery using the newly redesigned online giving website.


The Voyages of Discovery series is actively seeking corporate, foundation, community organization, and ECU campus partner sponsors for the 2023-2024 season. For more information on how your business, organization, or unit can support this valuable series, please contact THCAS Director of Alumni Relations and Outreach Ashley Harzog at


Community, Foundation and Corporate Partners

The Voyages of Discovery Series is possible thanks to the following Community and Corporate Partner contributions.

Youngs Physical Therapy & Sports Performance
Amanda Whited, Ph.D., Realtor with Keller Williams Points East
Nostalgia Newsstand


ECU Campus Partners

The Voyages of Discovery Series is possible thanks to the following ECU Campus Partner contributions.

Dr. Jesse R. Peel LGBTQ Center
Honors College
Academic Library Services
Center for Counseling and Student Development
Campus Recreation and Wellness
Student Health Services
Laupus Health Sciences Library
Department of History
Lawrence F. Brewster Lecture in History
College of Fine Arts and Communication
Ficklen Endowment for the Arts
David Julian and Virginia Suther Whichard Distinguished Professorship in the Humanities
Linda E. McMahon Distinguished Professorship in Foreign Languages
Thomas W. Rivers Distinguished Professorship for Global Understanding


Corps of Discovery

Individual and family supporters are warmly invited to join the Corps of Discovery. These generous gifts allow us to continue to bring timely, thought-provoking, and impactful leaders to speak directly to our community, as well as secure the financial future of the series.

In 1804 President Thomas Jefferson commissioned his own Corps of Discovery, led by Meriwether Lewis and William Clark, to explore the American West. The objectives of the expedition were to study the plants, animal life, and geography, as well as learn about the native peoples and the cultures of those living in that region.

In that same spirit of exploration, the Voyages series brings to ECU speakers who help us understand more fully the world in which we live and those with whom we share it. The speakers in the Voyages series are changing the world and inspiring us to work together for a better future. The benefits of the series are not just for the university, but also for our city and our region.

Just as the Corps from the Lewis and Clark expedition shared the wonders of their discoveries and new-gained knowledge, so our own Corps of Discovery will enrich the lives of those in the region by ensuring access to the rich treasures of the Voyages series.


Corps of Discovery Program Rates

Donation LevelDonation Amount
Royal Yacht$20,000

Make a Gift to Voyages of Discovery

Corps of Discovery Contributors

The Voyages of Discovery Series is possible thanks to the following Corps of Discovery contributions.

(This list is based on gifts made to the Series from February 1, 2022, through July 31, 2023.
All good faith has been made to compile a list that is as complete and correct as possible.)

Royal Yacht

Ms. Harvey S. Wooten


Mr. William Phillip Hodges & Mrs. Lisa Brewer Hodges
Mr. Alton Wayne Holloman & Mrs. Sherry McKee Holloman




Mr. Carl Wade Davis, Jr. & Mrs. Martha L. Davis
Mr. Mitchell Lee Hunt & Mrs. Cynthia Duffy Hunt


Mrs. Beverly Jones Cox
Dr. Allison S. Danell & Dr. Ryan Danell
Mr. Neil Edward Dorsey & Mrs. Donna Morgan Dorsey
Dr. Michelle F. Eble & Mr. Shane L. Ernst
Mr. Charles Edward Saunders
Mr. Matthew Howard Slate & Mrs. Kelly Mitchem Slate
Mrs. Judith Kirkpatrick Whichard
Mrs. Wanda Edwards Yuhas


Dr. John T. Bray & Mrs. Nancy Glaser Bray
Mrs. Christine Holkan Grant
Dr. Holly F. Mathews & Dr. Ronald W. Hoag
Mrs. Jessica Creson Nottingham & Mr. Mark Austin Nottingham


Dr. George Arthur Bissinger & Mrs. Wendy Bissinger
Dr. Alethia H. Cook
Mrs. Christine L. Danell-Tepper
Mrs. Jennifer Ann Daugherty & Mr. Michael Ezra Daugherty
Mrs. Deborah Diffenbaugh & Mr. Jon Diffenbaugh
Dr. Paul Joseph Gemperline & Mrs. Margaret Cetera Gemperline
Ms. Ashley Harzog & Ms. Kelsey Curtis
Mrs. Ann Brandon Laliotes